

Worcester Institute for Senior Education (WISE)

Minutes of the Annual Meeting Date: May 24th, 2022: 11.30 a.m.

Executive Committee: Tej Maini (President), Tony Simas (Vice President), Pat Hertzfeld (Secretary), Patricia Segerson (Treasurer).

Committee Chairs: Barbara Groves, Doug Johnson, Claire Forgues, Charlene Nemeth.

At-Large Members: Robert McLaren, Jennie Savage.

Past Presidents: Joe Corn, Sue Durham. Technology Advisor: Karl Hakkarainen. Program Assistant: Lynette White.

Total WISE Members in Attendance: In Person: 60; via Zoom: 32.

Guests: Dr. Kimberly Schandel, Dr. Conway Campbell, Mr. Robert Carson, Mr. James Keevan.

N.B.: These minutes assume that the prior circulated reports and enclosures attached to the agenda are incorporated herewith, exceptions as noted.

No.	Agenda Item	Discussion	Follow up
	Call to Order	The meeting was called to order by Tej Maini at 11.30 a.m. He welcomed & introduced to the WISE members, the Assumption University faculty: Dr. Kim Schandel, Dr. Conway Campbell & Mr. Robert Carson. Dr. Francesco Cesareo and Dr. Gregory Weiner were unable to attend because of other commitments.	
1.	Approval of the minutes of the meetings held on 5.27.2021 and 4.28.2022.	Motion to approve the minutes was made and seconded. Motion carried.	

No.	Agenda Item	Discussion	Follow up
2.	Assumption University: • Dr. Kimberly Schandel.	Dr. Schandel, the Dean of Graduate Education at Assumption University gave a few remarks. Tej Maini then presented Dr. Schandel with a check for \$1500, designating it for student scholarships.	
3.	 Reports: Treasurer and Chair of the Finance Committee. Nominating Committee. 	The annual reports of the Treasurer, Nominating Committee Chair, as well as all the Committee Chairs, Group and Club Coordinators have been provided to all the WISE members. Ms. Patricia Segerson gave the Treasurer's Report, including presenting the Budget for 2022-2023 that was approved by the Council at its May meeting. Ms. Charlene Nemeth provided an update on the search for the Executive Director of WISE and introduced Mr. James Keevan, who will start in that capacity at WISE on June 6, 2022.	
4.	President	He welcomed James Keevan as the new Executive Director, and Lynette White to WISE as the new Program Assistant. He stated that the members had received an update of the new model of WISE. Details of the minutes of the meeting held on 4.28.2022 and the accompanying slide deck have also been sent to the members. Tej then presented a plaque to Mr. Karl Hakkarainen, which read: "In Appreciation of His Dedication and Service To WISE" Karl Hakkarainen 2013 - 2022 Tej thanked all the leadership of WISE and its members for their contributions, especially during the difficult past two years, because of COVID-19.	

No.	Agenda Item	Discussion	Follow up
		Charlene Nemeth presented a certificate of appreciate to Tej and thanked him, on behalf of the entire Council, for his outstanding leadership and dedication to WISE.	
5.	Keynote Speaker: Mr. Douglas Johnson.	Tej Maini introduced Mr. Douglas Johnson, who spoke on: "Behind the Lens: So Much to See" Doug presented a talk about his philosophy and approach to photography from the artistic perspective. He then exhibited a slide show of his photos grouped into 4 themes: 1970, Hands, Bark, and Street. His presentation was warmly received.	
6.	Adjournment.	The meeting adjourned for lunch at 12:40 pm.	